Conrad Headlines Four Rams Earning Postseason Atlantic 10 Honors

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – Four VCU players received Atlantic 10 Conference postseason recognition Wednesday after a vote of the league's head coaches.  Junior Courtney Conrad (pictured) garnered first team honors, while seniors Wendy Acosta and Carly Edgcomb, as well as sophomore Cristin Granados received second team accolades.  Acosta was also named to the A-10 All-Rookie squad.

Conrad led the Rams and ranked among the A-10 leaders in nearly every offensive category during the regular season.  She enters the conference tournament with a team-best 10 goals (five game-winning scores), 21 points, 61 shots and 32 shots on goal. 

Acosta, in her first season of collegiate competition, tallied nine goals (7th-most in A-10) and an assist for 19 points, while netting four game-winning goals.  She was also a perfect 3-for-3 on penalty kicks.  Granados, meanwhile, scored six goals, while ranking second on the Rams with three assists and third with 15 points.  In addition, four of her six goals came against A-10 opponents.

Edgcomb, who teamed with Conrad as just two of three Rams to start every game in 2012, helped pace VCU's defense to a league-best eight shutouts, including five in A-10 play.  The Rams back line also allowed just 14 goals all season, tied for the fewest in the A-10, while surrendering only six goals against conference foes.

Third-seeded VCU kicks off the 2012 A-10 Championship against No. 6 Saint Joseph's on Thursday, Nov. 1 at 7:30 p.m. at the University of Rhode Island's Soccer Complex in Kingston, R.I.  The match marks the Rams first meeting against the Hawks this season.

Every match of the tournament is being web‐streamed for free at Live
stats, photo galleries, and game recaps will also be available on the Women's Soccer Championship
Central at

Coach of the Year –
Paul Royal, La Salle
Offensive Player of the Year –
Colleen Williams, Dayton
Defensive Player of the Year –
Courtney Niemiec, La Salle
Midfielder of the Year –
Mo Hawkins, Saint Joseph's
Rookie of the Year –
Sophia Maccagnone, Butler

First Team Forwards

Colleen Williams, Dayton
Moa Mattsson, Massachusetts
Courtney Conrad, VCU

First Team Midfielders
Sophia Maccagnone, Butler
Juliana Libertin, Dayton
Renee Washington, La Salle
Mo Hawkins, Saint Joseph's

First Team Defenders
Alysha Mallon, Dayton
Courtney Niemiec, La Salle
Shannon Van Riper, St. Bonaventure

Co-First Team Goalkeeper
Gabrielle Pakhtigian, La Salle
Christine Neal, Saint Joseph's

Second Team Forwards

Ashley Campbell, Dayton
Kelsey Haycook, La Salle
Becca Wann, Richmond
Wendy Acosta, VCU

Second Team Midfielders
Amanda Jones, Charlotte
Alexis Garcia, Dayton
Cristin Granados, VCU

Second Team Defenders
Kelly Mahoney, Butler
Jourdan McVicker, La Salle
Carly Edgcomb, VCU

Sophia Maccagnone, Butler
Maddie Kiebel, Charlotte
Ashley Campbell, Dayton
Nicole Waters, Dayton
Kristi Abbate, George Washington
Ellie Bailes, Rhode Island
Abby Maiello, Saint Bonaventure
Olivia McEachern, Saint Joseph's
Shauni Kerkhoff, Temple
Erin Lafferty, Temple
Wendy Acosta, VCU